0.1 Update

As I mentioned in my previous post my goal is to make the Raspberry Pi boot in approximately 15 seconds.  I am on my way to reach this goal, currently I have a few Virtual Machines with the same hardware specs as the Raspberry Pi booting in 20.1 seconds.  I did this by limiting the services that are running at boot.  Below is a list of the services that are currently running:

These services that are running are the same services that the Raspberry Pi is currently running.  By using a program called Bootchart I can visually see what components and modules are taking longer to boot.  In my next release I plan on incorporating a few more services that will speed up the boot process, I also plan on looking into init scripts and seeing if i can make any changes there. Stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

