Building Software from Source Code

For the Building Software from Source Code lab I chose the text editor Nano because it is a useful program that I’ll actually use. Below is a screen shot of the tarball that was downloaded.

After the Tarball was installed, I decompressed it using the command tar xvzf nano-2.2.6.tar.gz below is the output of that command:

After the decompression, I ran the ./configure script inside of the extracted directory to configure Nano with all of my current settings.  Below is the output when running the script:

Once the package had been configured, I ran the make command to install Nano on my system.

To ensure that Nano was installed, I ran the program and entered some sample text.

This is a basic example of installing software from the source code. This process was pretty simple and it only took about 5 minutes to complete. Below is link to the Nano website:

http://www.nano-editor.org/

Leave a Reply

